Posted by: Boston Bravery | April 30, 2010

“I Think We Should Be As Bold And As Out And Upfront As Possible…”

“I wanted it to be sexual because rock and roll is about sexuality,” Jon said. “And I felt that by being blunt, it would disarm people. People were trying to assimilate at that time. It was the time of AIDS, and people felt, we can’t misbehave because we want straight people to support us over this important issue. And I said, I see your point but I disagree.

“I think we should be as bold and as out and upfront as possible, and that people will respect us for that. To not be cowed, to not be cautious, about what people might think. Because if you’re always worried about what people might think it’s going to inhibit you, and I wanted to have honest expression. And I thought, I can do this. It’s my sense of humor, and using that, I can get this message across.” ~ Jon Ginoli interview with AfterElton.

Available on iTunes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

