Posted by: Boston Bravery | April 19, 2010

Rachel Maddow talks with Bud Welch

This being 15 years since the Oklahoma City bombing by domestic terrorist Timothy McVeigh, we should look at the affects.  Rachel Maddow talked with Bud Welch, whose 23-year-old daughter, Julie was killed by this act of terror.  Click here to watch the interview.  Mr. Welch way is so perfect he shows how the death penalty does nothing for anyone.  Bud’s comments against the death penalty are the best I have heard.

Bud Welch is the president of Murder Victims’ Families for Human Rights which is against the death penalty.

Mr. Welch, “I reached that point about a year after the bombing close to a year.  All my life I have apposed death penalty I just thought is was something that society should not being doing.  After Julie’s death I was so full rage and hate I had to get retropution in someway.  I was for the death penalty for probably for the first year.  After recognizing that  killing Tim McVeigh was not part of my healing process I was to move forward.”

He then goes on to talk about meeting McVeigh’s Father and how McVeigh’s father is a bigger victim of the bombing than he is because McVeigh’s is not able to say anything positive about his son and Welch is able to keep the good memories of his daughter alive by talking about her all around the country.

Leave a Reply

Categories

